mycroft, on 2021-June-26, 09:56, said:
Where do you stop? If I ask you to explain your "15-17" NT, what do you say? And how many exceptions do you leave out? Or are you the "15-17, what more do you want to know?" (Of course blackshoe is not, but thousands are).
And once you have an answer to that, does it apply equivalently to my 1NT for takeout "8-14 or so, takeout of ♥, 3+in others"? or 1♣ "could be 2" "when is it 2?" "could be 2 is all I have to say"?
In other words, are we "yeah, there are exceptions, you're always allowed to use judgement, unless it's something I don't play, in which case you have to explain *all* of your judgement or it's not "full disclosure"?
My 15(14)-17 is alerted and explained "may contain a 6 card minor, a 5 card major, a maximum of 9 cards in two suits, does not exclude a singleton; frequent upgrades with 5 card, in particular spades". Which is more than we actually discussed and only a little less than written.
I think the opponents are due that, as the agreement is definitely not standard although not exactly weird.
Our 1♧ that "could be 2 cards" gets announced exactly that way, by national regulations. They also specify that this implies 2 cards only in a 4=4=3=2, otherwise it would of course be explained.
What I would never explain is that a raise might be made on less HCP if I had more cards, and so on. In our country I would not feel obliged to specify that I had a splinter bid available as an alternative, either, although I would certainly do so against beginners.