Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

2-level jump shift by opener

#1 User is offline   Infidel 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2011-November-15, 14:04

P and I have been arguing for at least 2 years, with no sign of resolution, about the forcing/non-forcing nature of an uncontested 1/1/1 auction, e.g., 1d-1H-1S. Either way, either the 1S rebid has an unwieldy range of 12-to 18 or so (just short of a GF jump shift), or there is a huge rebid problem with intermediate hands.

I may have devised a solution (which starts out, of course, “do it MY way and treat 1S as nf”): make the jump shift on the intermediate (16-18) hands, and use Lebensohl as a control, just as if it had been a reverse, not a jump shift. Of course, the Jump Shift may also be the full-blown game force, so responder has to bypass the relay whenever he can’t stand a signoff, similar to Leb over a double of a weak 2.

Usually, when I come up with oddities like this, I get one of two reactions: A) “you, idiot, that is unworkable because…” or B) “you idiot, that was part of the (xxxxx) system proposed by (xxxxx) back in ’74…” or some such. Which is it this time? If it’s part of some previously- hammered out system, I’d like to read up on it; if it won’t work, I’d appreciate input on why. If relevant, we play a gadget-infested 2/1.

(Feel free to weigh in, also, on the theory that 1d-1H-1S is forcing in standard bidding…) Thanks in advance

#2 User is offline   MrAce 

• VIP Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2011-November-15, 14:28

View PostInfidel, on 2011-November-15, 14:04, said:

P and I have been arguing for at least 2 years, with no sign of resolution, about the forcing/non-forcing nature of an uncontested 1/1/1 auction, e.g., 1d-1H-1S. Either way, either the 1S rebid has an unwieldy range of 12-to 18 or so (just short of a GF jump shift), or there is a huge rebid problem with intermediate hands.