When is a claim a claim?
#1
Posted 2011-June-26, 15:38
Then says, "OK, I'll take these" and tables AKJ of a suit...
.... and then says "Oh I'm not sure - I should play it out", and picks up the cards he tabled.
Does play now cease because declarer has started to state a claim?
Or may declarer continue to play out the hand?
I was looking at Law 48B, but this make it clear whether facing some - rather than all - of declarer's cards constitutes a claim!
#2
Posted 2011-June-26, 15:59
jules101, on 2011-June-26, 15:38, said:
Then says, "OK, I'll take these" and tables AKJ of a suit...
.... and then says "Oh I'm not sure - I should play it out", and picks up the cards he tabled.
Does play now cease because declarer has started to state a claim?
Or may declarer continue to play out the hand?
I was looking at Law 48B, but this make it clear whether facing some - rather than all - of declarer's cards constitutes a claim!
The applicable law is 68 which begins:
For a statement or action to constitute a claim or concession of tricks under these Laws, it must refer to tricks other than one currently in progress*. If it does refer to subsequent tricks:
A. Claim Defined
Any statement to the effect that a contestant will win a specific number of tricks is a claim of those tricks. A contestant also claims when he suggests that play be curtailed, or when he shows his cards (unless he demonstrably did not intend to claim
The described action is certainly a claim.
#3
Posted 2011-June-28, 17:18
ahydra
#4
Posted 2011-June-28, 18:49
ahydra, on 2011-June-28, 17:18, said:
Sure he has. He laid down AKJ and said "I'll take these…" That's three tricks. Seems pretty specific to me. NB: I'll grant he hasn't finished his claim statement, and it's likely he intended to claim more tricks, but he said specifically that he would take these three.
As for tv, screw it. You aren't missing anything. -- Ken Berg
Our ultimate goal on defense is to know by trick two or three everyone's hand at the table. -- Mike777
I have come to realise it is futile to expect or hope a regular club game will be run in accordance with the laws. -- Jillybean
#5
Posted 2011-June-29, 10:03
So if I show him my cards am I "claiming"? Do I have to state a line? IF I do not state a line am i liable to get ruled against. Does showing only one defender your cards count as "obviously not claiming"?
#6
Posted 2011-June-29, 10:22
phil_20686, on 2011-June-29, 10:03, said:
Yes. Yes. Yes. No.

You are attempting to curtail play, and anything you do will be a suggestion that play is curtailed; that is a claim (Law 68A).
All I can suggest is: show your hand and explain clearly
"I think I have the rest, it is quite complicated to explain, but here goes, ...
If you discard such-and-such then I will ...
...
Is that clear?"
"Robin Barker is a mathematician. ... All highly skilled in their respective fields and clearly accomplished bridge players."
#7
Posted 2011-June-29, 10:57
RMB1, on 2011-June-29, 10:22, said:
Does the same apply to the defence? I have certainly seen defenders show their hand to declarer in such a way as to ensure partner does not see it, presumably with the same idea of curtailing play but trying to avoid problems of UI, penalty cards or whatever if declarer does not agree. I suppose those "problems" shouldn't exist in theory anyway since play ceases when there is a claim...
#8
Posted 2011-June-29, 12:49
WellSpyder, on 2011-June-29, 10:57, said:
Yes it is a claim if a defender suggest play is curtailed (Law 68A does not distinguish.)
Showing your hand to declarer (only) is regarded as good practice by some, when claiming and conceding some tricks as defender. It is not to avoid problems if declarer does not accept the claim but to avoid problems if partner objects to the concession. Then play continues (Law 68B2) and by not showing his hand to partner, the defender has avoided "problems of UI, penalty cards or whatever".
"Robin Barker is a mathematician. ... All highly skilled in their respective fields and clearly accomplished bridge players."
#9
Posted 2011-June-30, 16:40
Merseyside England UK
EBL TD
Currently at home
Visiting IBLF from time to time
<webjak666@gmail.com>
#10
Posted 2011-June-30, 18:05
bluejak, on 2011-June-30, 16:40, said:
What do you think is the difference?
London UK
#11
Posted 2011-June-30, 20:39
shorten: make or become shorter : [ trans. ] he shortened his stride | [ intrans. ] around mid-September, days shorten and temperatures dip.
Not quite the same, I think.
As for tv, screw it. You aren't missing anything. -- Ken Berg
Our ultimate goal on defense is to know by trick two or three everyone's hand at the table. -- Mike777
I have come to realise it is futile to expect or hope a regular club game will be run in accordance with the laws. -- Jillybean
#12
Posted 2011-June-30, 21:12
However, in the context of claiming, curtailing is presumably intended to mean that it gets reduced to 0, since the Laws clearly state that play stops once a claim is made. If I show an opponent my cards, I'm trying to speed up the remainder of the play, but not necessarily curtail it entirely. Often, the opponent is in the tank trying to make a decision, and I know that it doesn't matter on this trick (e.g. he's leading toward a KJ and I have AQ behind it), and once he gets past this trick he'll be able to claim.
I'm sure we've all done this, and we weren't in a position where we could make a valid claim about the rest of the hand, all we could do is get declarer out of this silly tank.
#13
Posted 2011-June-30, 21:47

As for tv, screw it. You aren't missing anything. -- Ken Berg
Our ultimate goal on defense is to know by trick two or three everyone's hand at the table. -- Mike777
I have come to realise it is futile to expect or hope a regular club game will be run in accordance with the laws. -- Jillybean
#14
Posted 2011-June-30, 23:15
blackshoe, on 2011-June-30, 21:47, said:
Isn't that precisely what the parenthetical clause in 68A does? (I refer to "unless he demonstrably did not intend to claim...") I think it applies only to the showing of cards and not the other methods of claiming, but it does cover the situations where a player wants to show his cards (or some of his cards) in order to speed play without claiming.
Furthermore, I think we should interpret "curtail" as follows: it could be regarded as referring to shortening in time, or to reducing the number of cards played. It clearly cannot be the former, since otherwise statements like "We should hurry up; we've still got a board to play" would be claims. So it must be the latter.
Then the cases described above are attempts to speed play, but not attempts to curtail play (although one's aim might be to allow opponents to so suggest).
#15
Posted 2011-July-01, 02:24
blackshoe, on 2011-June-30, 21:47, said:

Actually many TDs (other than bluejak) will decide it was a claim even if there is a disclaimer issued. Of course if you think "curtail" doesn't mean "shorten", you might take a different view.
London UK
#16
Posted 2011-July-01, 02:58
If the first line of the post was meant to suggest only two tricks have been played, then I fail to understand how the showing of AKJ of one suit constitutes a claim. If it wasn't, then I'd appreciate if we can get a clarification on how many cards remained when the claim was made.
I like the point introduced in bluejak's post that declarer may have been trying to shorten the game.
If declarer says "I am playing the AKJ of trumps next" and shows those three cards from his hand, would he be claiming? I don't think so. He is probably trying to shorten the game by telling opps to follow to 3 rounds of trumps or identify suitable discards. It may be illegal for the declarer to say or do that but it still doesn't mean declarer has made a claim. (Edit: added "doesn't" - erroneously missed typing it earlier)
This post has been edited by shyams: 2011-July-01, 08:04
#17
Posted 2011-July-01, 07:13
Now, with the additional matters brought into this thread, may I just state that in the Norwegian translation of Law 68 we have used the Norwegian word "avbryte" which is synonymous to the English words "break off", "terminate" or "interrupt".
We are also clear on the point that the clause "unless he demonstrably did not intend to claim" specifically applies to the player exposing his cards, not to any of the other activities described as constituting a claim.
I have noticed with interest that the Danish translation is equivalent to our in this respect (we try to cooperate in such matters). I expect also the Swedish translation to be equivalent, but I haven't looked up that one.
#18
Posted 2011-July-01, 09:01
shyams, on 2011-July-01, 02:58, said:
That's what players are generally trying to do when they claim.
London UK
#19
Posted 2011-July-01, 09:32
Declarer ducked opening ♦ lead and won his ace at trick 3.
Trick 4 declarer ran J♥ to his AKT. [I've written this slightly wrong in original post - from memory I thought he had AKJ in hand cos they were start of statement but I've just checked the hand records.]
Then declarer started to claim, saying "OK, I have, A♦, AKJ♥, (tabling AK♥) and.... oh I'm not sure - I should play it out".
This back step was that he realised East might hold 5 card ♣ suit.
This wasn't the case, so the claim when it was eventually made was good! Declarer had nine tricks and was content to concede the others.
But that's not really the point...........
I'm trying to get to grips with the principle here.
Once declarer has tabled a couple of their cards and started to make a claim statement are they allowed to continue to play out the hand?
It made no absolutely no difference to this hand, but it may do on some future occasion, so I'd like to know the answer to my question - "when is a claim a claim?"
#20
Posted 2011-July-01, 10:23
As for tv, screw it. You aren't missing anything. -- Ken Berg
Our ultimate goal on defense is to know by trick two or three everyone's hand at the table. -- Mike777
I have come to realise it is futile to expect or hope a regular club game will be run in accordance with the laws. -- Jillybean