change of strategy?
#1
Posted 2011-June-06, 11:27
2♥-p-4♥**-4♠
p*-p-5♥**-
* noticeably slow
** very quick
Your partner calls the Director to tell him about the slow pass and the quick 5♥. He nods and goes away.
Legal question: Are you allowed to take this fact (that your partner called the director) into account in deciding between pass, double and 5♠?
Bridge question (in case the answer of the former question is yes): do you, as a bridge player, do this?
George Carlin
#2
Posted 2011-June-06, 11:50
A greater potential for UI seems to be created if partner starts asking a lot of unnecessary questions of the opponents like,
"what kinds of hands could the 4♥ bidder have",
"are there stronger ways to bid 4♥",
"what kind of suit quality does your partnership require for a weak 2" etc.,
I would think feel as if I am sliding into hole and I have to start looking at whether or not the questions asked start suggesting a particular action.
2. If there is no dilemma, there is no dilemma. I would take whatever action my hand called for. I can easily come up with a hand where 5♠ is marginal and one where 5♠ is clear, but I felt pressured to only bid 4♠ the time before. The scoring might be relevant, by the way.
Winner - BBO Challenge bracket #6 - February, 2017.
#3
Posted 2011-June-07, 06:57
Phil, on 2011-June-06, 11:50, said:
I disagree. Every single thing a player does outside of his legal bids, calls and plays is extraneous information which is unauthorised to his partner. Plenty can be read into partner's decision to call this director and those things are clearly UI.
I ♦ bidding the suit below the suit I'm actually showing not to be described as a "transfer" for the benefit of people unfamiliar with the concept of a transfer
#4
Posted 2011-June-07, 07:25
#5
Posted 2011-June-07, 07:28
mrdct, on 2011-June-07, 06:57, said:
- Making and correcting an insufficient bid
- Alerting partner's bid, waking him up to a mechanical error.
What about drawing attention to a BIT? Superficially, this doesn't seem to suggest one logical alternative over another. However, the loony SEWOG law creates another unnecessary anomaly. By drawing attention to the BIT, you alert partner to the danger of choosing an alternative that the director/committee, in their superior wisdom, may deem to be a serious error . Such an action risks forfeiting the possibility of redress if it turns out to be unsuccessful (even if normally it would be partner's automatic choice).
#6
Posted 2011-June-07, 13:22
*Of course, what looks like a clear 5♠ bid to me may be a clear pass for others. This is a subjective assessment.
George Carlin
#7
Posted 2011-June-07, 14:27
1. We have UI that partner called director. Could this demonstrably suggest some logical alternatives over others? I assume this is equivalent to asking: "Can we deduce anything about partner's hand from his director call?" (I certainly can't, but maybe I am just dumb.)
2. How does the fact that the opponent's 5♥ bid might get rolled back affect our strategy?
#8
Posted 2011-June-07, 15:08
#9
Posted 2011-June-07, 16:31
Never tell the same lie twice. - Elim Garek on the real moral of "The boy who cried wolf"
#10
Posted 2011-June-07, 17:17
cherdano, on 2011-June-07, 14:27, said:
2. How does the fact that the opponent's 5♥ bid might get rolled back affect our strategy?
If you're sure 5H will get rolled back, then there's no great benefit in bidding 5S unless to not do it would be considered wild or gambling. Assuming you have some defense your best strategy is probably to double since you'll get the score for 5HX if it's better than the result in 4S and the result of 4S if it's not.
#11
Posted 2011-June-07, 18:35
mrdct, on 2011-June-07, 06:57, said:
Can you cite a decision or law that supports this? I'm not trying to be argumentative here, but it seems pretty harsh to choose between not enforcing your rights, and creating a headache for your partner by the act of calling the director.
In the end, I think I look at this like Cherdano does; maybe there is UI in a director call, but what does it suggest, if anything?
Winner - BBO Challenge bracket #6 - February, 2017.
#12
Posted 2011-June-07, 20:08
nige1, on 2011-June-07, 07:28, said:
If it doesn't occur to him that there may be a ruling on the hand, partner is unlikely to make a SEWOG bid anyway. My calling the TD would be *more* likely to influence partner's bid were it not for the law you mention.
#13
Posted 2011-June-07, 20:22
I guess if someone did this with a hand that was happy to be defending 5H instead of playing 4S then I would be suspicious that this was a means of waking partner up, however if this is the recommended time to call the TD then you can't assume that was why it was done.
As has been said before, the hesitation and impending ruling should dissuade this hand from bidding 5S, so the standards for a "clear 5S bid" have changed somewhat.
#14
Posted 2011-June-07, 20:23
MickyB, on 2011-June-07, 20:08, said:
#15
Posted 2011-June-07, 20:45
Phil, on 2011-June-07, 18:35, said:
Laws 16A3 and 16B1(a).
I ♦ bidding the suit below the suit I'm actually showing not to be described as a "transfer" for the benefit of people unfamiliar with the concept of a transfer
#16
Posted 2011-June-07, 21:02
jeffford76, on 2011-June-07, 17:17, said:
But I can't be sure that 5H will get rolled back, as responder might have a clear-cut 5H bid.
How about the following reason to bid 5S: if RHO has a clear-cut 5H bid that survives a committee, then we won't be beating this, especially given opener's hesitation. So I should bid 5S. Conversely, if we are beating this, then probably RHO's 5H wasn't clear and the auction will get rolled back to 4S anyway.
This probably sounds more mischievous than how I think of it - I would just be bidding under the assumption that RHO was following the rules and not choosing a logical alternative that might been suggested by his partner's hesitation.
#17
Posted 2011-June-07, 21:52
mrdct, on 2011-June-07, 20:45, said:
Strange, the word "director" or "director call" does not appear in either of these laws.
Maybe you had something else in mind?
Winner - BBO Challenge bracket #6 - February, 2017.
#18
Posted 2011-June-07, 22:34
Phil, on 2011-June-07, 21:52, said:
Maybe you had something else in mind?
Try reading Law 16 in its entirety which basically says that you can base your actions on legal calls and plays (together with a view other esoteric things like illegal calls which have been accepted) and all other information is "extraneous" and a player may not base a call or play on such extraneous information. Law 16B1(a) gives a few examples of extraneous information, "a remark, a question, a reply to a question, an unexpected* alert or failure to alert, or by unmistakable hesitation, unwonted speed, special emphasis, tone, gesture, movement, or mannerism". By any reasonable interpretation of this, a decision by partner to draw attention to a BIT and/or call the director about it, falls within the meaning of "extraneous information". The recipient of the UI is now able to differentiate between the hand-types where partner would be inclined to take issue with the BIT and the hand-types where he would not. Of course, if partner is in the habit of routinely calling the director 100% of the time whenever he spots a BIT there would be no UI and in this case I've got no idea whether or not the guy who called the director is the SB type.
I ♦ bidding the suit below the suit I'm actually showing not to be described as a "transfer" for the benefit of people unfamiliar with the concept of a transfer
#19
Posted 2011-June-08, 07:34
As for tv, screw it. You aren't missing anything. -- Ken Berg
I have come to realise it is futile to expect or hope a regular club game will be run in accordance with the laws. -- Jillybean
#20
Posted 2011-June-08, 14:39
blackshoe, on 2011-June-08, 07:34, said:
Can I play a relay system where a director call shows an 8+ card suit?
-- Bertrand Russell