• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Appeals Deposits

#21 User is offline   Cyberyeti 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2010-May-28, 12:33

I had a situation a year ago where I had to appeal to the national authority. I had to think very hard about that one as I am a full time student, my partner is on benefits and losing the appeal would have had consequences for both of us. I think the appeal was £75.

As it happened, a pair who'd qualified for the event I'd originally qualified for, and the appeals committee turfed me out of, weren't prepared to wait for the outcome of the appeal to the L&E and pulled out, so we qualified as subs anyway and the appeal was withdrawn.

There is an issue where the appeal fee is inconsequential to some players and serious money to others.

#22 User is offline   FrancesHinden 

• Limit bidder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Bridge, classical music, skiing... but I spend more time earning a living than doing any of those

Posted 2010-May-28, 13:17

I also don't think there's an easy answer.

I like the concept of only being allowed X unsuccessful, or X frivolous appeals per year, but who's doing the counting? Is that per person (might be unfair on his partner) or per team? Does it count all events, including at your local club? What about county events?

In my impecunious student days it was generally fairly well known that if you pleaded serious poverty you would usually get your deposit, or most of it at any rate, back as long as your appeal wasn't of the "but we always appeal" type. The difficulty with that is that I remember someone once claiming he couldn't afford an appeal to the national authority.... who had been playing in a recent congress with a paid professional.

#23 User is offline   bluejak 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Bridge Laws, Cats, Railways, Transport timetables

Posted 2010-May-28, 16:36