• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

2 over 1

#1 User is offline   Alibar10 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Interests:Art, bridge, reading

Posted 2016-March-22, 14:13

I read that the robots are programmed to play 2 over 1. I used to occasionally play with the robots, but since I don't know 2 over 1, there's no point in trying to play with them. Have they always played this method or is it fairly recent? I realize they aren't people, but they so often bid a suit and will be void in it or only have a singleton. Do most players in BBO play 2 over 1?

#2 User is offline   1eyedjack 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2016-March-22, 14:22

Most players on BBO with any significant experience play 2 over 1, I think.

Personally I had very little experience of playing 2 over 1 until I started playing with robots. Now I seldom play with anyone other than robots.

You need to accept that there are some idiosyncratic differences between the version of 2/1 that the robots are programmed to play, and anything remotely standard that you might come across in a human partnering.

I wouldn't worry too much about lack of familiarity with the system, as an excuse not to play robots: whenever a robot bids you can get an explanation by hovering the mouse over the bid, and whenever it is your turn to bid you can get an explanation for all legal options by hovering your mouse over each option. Somewhat slow going, if you are doing it all the time, but as familiarity grows so does speed.

There remain, and I suspect always will remain some bugs where the bid descriptions are at odds with the cards held (or descriptions are incomplete). But as a working solution it will get you most of what you need to know.
Psych (pron. saik): A gross and deliberate misstatement of honour strength and/or suit length. Expressly permitted under Law 73E but forbidden contrary to that law by Acol club tourneys.